Shared Flickr Pics

It’s possible to share full size photos privately through Flickr, so anyone in the family who wants them can get their own copies, even without having their own account. All you need is a special link.

How to get private pictures from Flickr

Step 1. Open your browser (the thing you use to look at the Internet.) I'm using Chromium here, but all the browsers work more or less the same.
Step 1. Open your browser (the thing you use to look at the Internet.)
I’m using Chromium here, but all the browsers work more or less the same.

The person sharing the picture (or Flickr album) first gives you a special URL that is actually a combination password and link.

Step 2
Step 2

Type the private URL into the Address Bar, then press ENTER (carriage return)

or

Select (highlight the text) of the private URL (link), then right click on the Address bar and choose “paste” or “paste and proceed” to put the URL into the Address Bar and go to the Flickr site.

Step 3
Step 3

Click on the picture you want (depending on your computer, you might need to double click)

 

Now you’re in “theatre mode” and you can use the right or left arrows to go through the images in the album, or choose to download the picture to your own computer.

Step 4

4

When you click on the Download arrow you have two choices.

Step 5

You can choose to download one of the image sizes offered in the popup menu — if you are looking for a printable image always choose “Original,” or choose “View all sizes” to go to the photo page for all the size options.

Step 6

My own standard size choice for pictures I post online is 1600 because it will look good on most computer screens.  If you want something for your cell phone, you might want something smaller.

Step 7

 

Click on the image size you want and it will take you to that size image.

Right Click

Right click on the image and a popup menu will give you an option to “Save image as…” and you will have the option to name the picture and decide where you want to put it on your computer.

save the file

IMPORTANT NOTE:
The person sharing the picture (or Flickr album) gives you a special URL that is actually a passworded link. This is the link you must *always* use. When it takes you past the password onto the page there will be a different URL in the Address Bar. If you try to start with that link, it won’t work… it will take you to a 404 error instead.

People can share a single picture or an album (or set) of images. When sharing many photos, its easier all around to use an album… that way when photos are added later, people with the album link can get the new ones.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s